Author Topic: Wizard's interview to ALLAN HEINGBERG  (Read 3118 times)

CIENCIANO

Wizard's interview to ALLAN HEINGBERG
« on: August 01, 2006, 03:13:26 pm »
ALLAN HEINBERG: LOOKING BACK
The 'Young Avengers' writer looks back at the highs and lows of his first volume
By Robert Taylor

Posted July 29, 2006  10:40 AM

Allan Heinberg would love to tell you some fun quirky story he experienced recently, but he can't. He would love to talk about wild party moments of late, but he hasn't had any. He's been chained to his desk for the past few weeks, juggling his workload as a producer for TV's "Grey's Anatomy" and his writing duties on DC's Wonder Woman.

He did, however, pull himself away (even if it did take a hacksaw and a spatula to do it) long enough to reminisce about the first volume of Young Avengers, what went right, what went wrong, and what he would change.

WIZARD: What were you doing right before Marvel approached you to do work for them?

HEINBERG: I was a writer and producer of "The O.C." on Fox.

Tell us about how you got the Young Avengers gig.

HEINBERG: Mike Cotton interviewed me for Wizard Magazine about the show's onscreen comic book obsession, and shortly after the article appeared, Marvel got in touch and asked if I'd ever had any interest in writing a comic book.

How did you go about creating each character, and what gave them a voice?

HEINBERG: I did a lot of Avengers-related research, thought a lot about team dynamics and teen archetypes, and then tried to imagine the kind of team I'd enjoy reading about.

When did Jim Cheung hop onboard?

HEINBERG: Jim Cheung was the first and only name we ever considered even from the earliest pitch stage.

What makes you guys mesh so well?

HEINBERG: For me, it's because not only is Jim brilliant at executing big, widescreen, comic book action scenes, as well as intimate, emotional character scenes, but he can do both at the same time, which is all too rare in comics.